Church History

Historical Background of the Church 

As there was substantial growth in the membership of the CSI Immanuel Church, Broadway, Ernakulam, during the Eighties and Nineties it was felt necessary to form new congregations located at convenient places in the city of Ernakulam or its outskirts. As a result, the Christ Church at Elamkulam came into being in December,1991.

However, as the membership of the Mother Church was still growing, a second bifurcation of the Church was found extremely essential to handle the situation. In view of that,efforts were put in to identify a suitable land for the construction of a new Church and the land was located at Kakkanadu. Construction of the new Church was taken up as a project of CSI Immanuel Church, Ernakulam and the Foundation Stone was laid by Rt Rev Dr George Isaac, on 3rd June 2001.   Construction was started in the month of August 2001 and thanks to the dedicated efforts put in by the members of the Immanuel Church and other well wishers, construction of the Church could be completed within a record time of nine months. Above all, abundant blessings of the Lord Almighty were evident in all the activities connected with the construction of this Church. The Ascension Church was dedicated to the Glory of God on Sunday 19th May, 2002 by Rt. Rev. Dr. George Isaac, the then Bishop in CSI North Kerala Diocese, in presence of Rt. Rev. T B Benjamin, Rt. Rev. Dr. P G Kuruvilla, and Rt. Rev. B N Fenn, then Vicar of CSI Immanuel Church, Ernakulam.


Important Milestones in Chronological Order 

  1. Purchase of Land (42.5 Cents)   : 10-04-2001
  2. Laying of Foundation Stone for the Church: 03-06-2001
  3. Starting of Construction             : 20-08-2001
  4. Dedication of the Church           : 19-05-2002
  5. Purchase of land for Cemetery : 04-10-2004
  6. Dedication of Vault in the Cemetery    : 09-10-2006
  7. Laying of Foundation Stone for the Parsonage    : 02-11-2008
  8. Dedication of the Parsonage   : 04-07-2010


Pastors who served Ascension Church

  1. Rev. P K Mammen                                                 May 2002- April 2005
  2. Rev Dr George Ninan                                             May 2005- June 2007
  3. Deacon P L Denny                                                  Assistant to Rev Dr George Ninan
  4. Rev Sunder Jacob                                                 July 2007- September 2007
  5. Rev P T George                                                      October 2007- April 2008
  6. Rev N K Prasad                                                      May 2008-April 2012
  7. Rev P J Jacob                                                        May 2013-April 2017
  8. Rev Varghese P Joseph                                        May 2017-


Present Pastorate Committee 

Rev Varghese P Joseph(Chairman)

Mr Jacob Raju (Secretary)

Mr Binoy Meledath (Treasurer)

Mr Samuel George (Member)

Mrs Sudha Elizabeth Thomas (Member)

Dr D Thomas (Member)

Mr Jubin C John (Member)


Present Diocesan Council Members representing Ascension Church

Mr T C Jacob

Mrs Ruby James

Mr Sam Christy Asseria



Mr. Christy D Manuel (Shaji)                     97444 91665 

Past Secretaries and Treasurers of the Parish

Mr K P Philip (Late)       Secretary                           – 2004

Mr V T Jacob                   Treasurer                            -2004

Mr M P Abraham           Secretary                   2004-2009

Mr Jacob Raju                 Treasurer                   2004-2009

Mr K P John                     Secretary                   2009-2013

Dr. Shobhana Reji         Treasurer                  2009-2018

Mr Vinod Robert           Secretary                   2013-2018


Past LaySecretary of the North Kerala Diocese from our Parish

Mr Koshy Thomas         2004-2007